Broken Blossoms (1919)

The Films of D.W. Griffith

In 1897, Griffith set out to pursue a career both acting and writing for the theater but for the most part was unsuccessful. Reluctantly, he agreed to act in the new motion picture medium for Edwin S. Porter at the Edison Company. Griffith was eventually offered a job at the financially struggling American Mutoscope & Biograph [US] where he directed over 450 short films, experimenting with the story-telling techniques he would later perfect in his epic The Birth of a Nation (1915). Griffith and his personal cinematographer G.W. Bitzer collaborated to create and perfect such cinematic devices as the flashback, the iris shot, the mask, and crosscutting. Though hailed for his vision in narrative film-making, he was similarly criticized for his blatant racism. Griffith died in Los Angeles in 1948, one of the most dichotomous figures in film history.

A Corner In Wheat (1909)
The Mender of Nets (1912)
Birth of a Nation (1915)
Broken Blossoms (1919)
Intolerance (1916)
Orphans of the Storm (1921)
Abraham Lincoln (1930)

Back to Silent Films

back to Uncle Earl's Classic TV Channel