Season Listings: Season 1 | Season 2 | Season 3 | Season 4 | Season 5

Amen (1986-1991)

Amen was an American sitcom television series that aired on NBC. Set in Sherman Hemsley's real-life hometown of Philadelphia, the series stars Hemsley as the deacon of a church and was part of a wave of successful sitcoms on NBC in the 1980s and early 1990s which featured predominantly black casts – others included The Cosby Show, A Different World, The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air, and 227. The series revolves around Ernest Frye, a widower deacon of the First Community Church of Philadelphia, who also works as a lawyer.
Season 1
The Courtship
The Morning After
The Deacon Delivers
Rolly Falls in Love
Retreat, Heck
Sermon from the Cell
Maitre D'eacon
Reuben's Romance
After the Fall
The Divorce Lawyer
Glen Gary Glen Thelma
What's Up, Deacon
Season 2
California Dreaming
Dancing in the Dark
You Bet Your Life
Dueling Ministers
Thelma's Reunion
Deacon on the Line
More Episodes | Back to the to the Sherman Hemsley Catalog

back to Uncle Earl's Classic TV Channel